Skip to content

You know you’re a math geek when…

July 1, 2009

…you’re constantly thinking of two trains traveling towards or away from each other.

From the brilliant GraphJam:

Word Problems

Inversely, you know you hate math when you live in constant fear of trains traveling towards or away from each other.

Just thought I’d share this with you since I’ve been giving the boys daily worksheets to save their brains from total disintegration, as generally happens during summer break. Left to their own devices, they would probably regress all the way back to thumb-sucking by the time school starts again in September.

But it’s nothing much- a little math, some vocabulary words, etc.- just enough to jostle the brain cells, but not enough to make them curse me under their breath as they listen to the other kids run amok outside their window.

And for the “half computer/half Pokemon/half Gummibear” younger child, the Nintendo DS has this uber cool thing called Brain Age. Problem solved *clapping dust off hands*.

Anyway, not an unusual event in my household, where husband and I practice the Gestapo School of ‘You’ll learn your maths, dammit!’ teaching method. Maria Montessori has nothing on us.

What do you expect from someone who was made to do Decision Trees whenever she was bad as a child? Someday I’ll show you my collection of those, along with the giant flowchart of my ’02 trip to NYC.

What? There were a lot of good plays and readings that week…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 11:00 pm

    Oh good grief you are hilarious! Stop it, my face hurts from laughing.

    I have not been brave enough to attempt the worksheet even though I know regression is happening. I can just hear the moans and groans now…That said, my girls do count their peas when they try to strike a deal to get out of eating dinner. “How ’bout 5 more Mom? NO–3 more?”

    Brain Age is great–we have that, I forgot that we did but guess what I am bringing out tomorrow…

    As for the pie chart–the only thing it does for me is make me hungry. Time for nachos…

  2. July 1, 2009 11:13 pm

    Hurray for Brain Age! When it comes to parenting, the path of least resistance is a godsend. Sometimes.
    Mmmmm, nachos…

  3. August 4, 2009 10:26 am

    This is a very funny post! It also brings to light an important aspect of the summertime that we often forget about. Kids who find it easy to neglect their studies during the year find an avenue of neglect during the summer months when they’re not in class. We call it summer brain drain. In regards to math, I’ve been working with a team of software engineers to create an interactive online based math learning game called DreamBox Learning that we hope will help with this brain drain issue. Its also a great learning game to supplement your childs mathematics during the school year as well. Come check out our game with a free two week trial at http://www.dreambox.com.

Leave a Reply

