Skip to content

in which I build a charm bracelet and practice self-psychoanalysis

June 8, 2009

I was bored at work today, so I put this together for you:

Charm Bracelet 

The charms from left to right: car key–roast chicken–hammer–teddy bear–bottle opener–Oscar statue–handcuffs.

This is what I came up with after I decided it would be amusing to build a bracelet using charms that were reasonable enough on their own, but would be strange if grouped together. For instance, I would spend hours wondering what type of person owned this if I found it on the ground somewhere. But then again, I’m a bit odd that way.

Which brings us to the other thing alluded to in tonight’s post title: self-psychoanalysis.

Facebook Status #25: Gemma Ybarra often practices self-psychoanalysis and recently had to fire herself for being the worst shrink on the planet.

Seriously, it’s a lot of fun, you should try it sometime; self-psychoanalysis and using the FB status feature as the perfect opportunity to refer to yourself in the third person 🙂

Anyway, I will have to save my vast litany of diagnoses for some other night of over-sharing. Tonight we’ll focus on the one connected to this charm bracelet exercise: Why do I love things in miniature?

I read Ian McEwan‘s Atonement last summer and found a very good answer:

Chapter 1, Paragraph 4 (Briony Tallis is being described)

  • “She was one of those children possessed by a desire to have the world just so. Whereas her big sister’s room was a stew of unclosed books, unfolded clothes, unmade bed, unemptied ashtrays, Briony’s was a shrine to her controlling demon: the model farm spread across a deep window ledge consisted of the usual animals, but all facing one way–toward their owner–as if about to break into song, and even the farmyard hens were neatly corralled. In fact, Briony’s was the only tidy upstairs room in the house. Her straight-backed dolls in their many-roomed mansions appeared to be under strict instructions not to touch the walls; the various thumb-sized figures to be found standing about her dressing table–cowboys, deep-sea divers, humanoid mice–suggested by their even ranks and spacing a citizen’s army awaiting orders. A taste for the miniature was one aspect of an orderly spirit.”

Does he know me? He even zeroed in on the neurotic cleanliness! It’s always appalling to find out you’re a stereotype after all.

If you haven’t already, go read the book. The entire thing is phenomenally perceptive.

The only caveat to the self-shrinking enterprise is that I can’t actually prescribe myself any drugs. Oh, well.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2009 5:53 pm

    I hope you know you have caused me to go out and buy yet another bead for my bracelet. Let the self-analysis begin….

  2. June 12, 2009 5:56 pm

    Oooh. What’d you get?

  3. June 13, 2009 2:55 pm

    “Silver Mountain”–a murano glass bead for this darn trollbeads bracelet that addicting. SIGH 🙂

  4. June 13, 2009 3:40 pm

    I love trollbeads!

  5. rita permalink
    September 2, 2009 4:01 pm

    hi looking for mini oscar statues like charms. anything? ty

  6. September 2, 2009 4:27 pm

    I shall email you the shop info for the Oscar charm featured in this blog post 🙂
    Thanks for coming by.

  7. November 14, 2009 2:41 am

    well put in charms..you are talented…mnemosynewrites

Trackbacks

  1. in which I build a charm bracelet and practice self-psychoanalysis

Leave a Reply

