Skip to content

how to survive a recession without really trying

June 3, 2009

As mentioned previously on other posts, practical advice and excellent examples are not a traditional offering on this here, my blob. Good, just wanted to make sure you remembered.

Some deep thoughts today on coping in these trying times:

  1. Become a Recessionista (Recession + Fashionista)- Apparently, one can continue to dress like Carrie in Sex and the City under a scant budget. But since I never dressed that well anyway, I found this for you: http://therecessionista.blogspot.com/. No, my idea of a wardrobe cut-back is far more extreme: Dig through old clothes in the basement as fashion revivals continue to crop up. But please, for the love of god, leave the acid-wash alone. It will never come back; it never should have happened in the first place.
  2. Go Green– What better reason to hop on the bandwagon than saving money? I always thought the U.S. was behind on this because it’s widely considered here as a political rather than an economic issue. Fortunately, I have the inherent Filipino “tipid” (frugal) gene with its attendant crazy practices. Take my mom, for example, the woman doesn’t care if she lives on a main thoroughfare, she will have her clotheslines, dammit!
  3. Buy in bulk, but never cook in bulk – This is one I had to learn the hard way. It’s okay to shop Sam’s Club, Costco, or other store that carries giant versions of your usual grocery items. But if you bake 4 dozen cookies, your family will eat 4 dozen cookies. All in one day. They will rummage at night, toting flashlights, and find them no matter how ingenious your hiding spot. They are rabid bloodhounds when it comes to food.
  4. Go for a joke, if you can’t go for broke– Funny is obviously cheaper than hoity-fatoity, and extremely underrated. My husband and I recently popped over to our friends next door for a pre-fundraiser soiree they were hosting. David and Jeffrey love wine and have excellent taste, so rather than getting the mediocre bottle we could afford at the time, we decided to bring them Marilyn Merlot: As per usual, Marilyn was a big hit!
  5. Read the reviews at Kanlaon before you fork out the big bucks for a movie– This woman has a nose for stinkers and a wide-ranging taste in movies. Watch out, David Denby, Anthony Lane, and Stephanie Zacharek! Everyone else will say it smells like a rose, then Marianne will write a review calling it a skunk, and you know what? It turns out to be black with a white stripe on it! Yes, her blog will save you a lot of time and money.

Well, that’s it for now. I shall keep you updated as I find more clever ways to beat this thing. In the meantime, since this is a blog by Mnemosyne, here is your handy dandy mnemonic:

  1. Bob
  2. Gathered
  3. Bothersome
  4. Gerbils
  5. Reluctantly

Happy Saving! 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 10:30 pm

    You have me roaring over here! You are hilarious, my dear. May I also suggest Menage a Trois or Fat Bastard? Both are affordable and who cares if anyone likes them–it’s all in the name. I keep a bottle of each on hand just in case…

  2. June 4, 2009 5:16 am

    Oooh! I like those names 😉

  3. June 4, 2009 6:47 am

    Me too–love to see the look on a person’s face when they receive a bottle. It’s too funny 🙂

  4. June 4, 2009 12:11 pm

    calliopespen: I love Fat Bastard!

    And, as for shout-out for Kanlaon, Thank You, mnemosyne! Caveat: I WAS apparently the only one in the universe not to like “Slumdog Millionaire” — ha ha ha ha

  5. June 4, 2009 12:57 pm

    Great minds, anthropologist, great minds..:) Ok, truth be told I first stumbled on it when it was given to me as a gift, and rarely drink it. Coffee is my first love. But I enjoy a good laugh every time I pass my cabinet with these two little gems sitting side by side waiting for their next romp 😉

Leave a Reply

