Skip to content

left to my own devices

May 30, 2009

Hellooo, idle day at home while menfolk are away canoeing, male-bonding, or other equally mysterious testosterone-based activity endlessly fascinating to boys.

Of course, I’m used to this by now, having grown up with 2 brothers before being blessed with 2 sons. But there are days when I just want to play with glitter, make Hello Kitty cookies, or dress in pink from head to toe. Things I wouldn’t otherwise aspire to do if there were a balanced female to male ratio in my life. C’est la vie.

So, these were the things I thought I might do today:

  • Finish Infinite Jest in the backyard hammock, effectively postponing weeding and any other semblance of housework or chore (sorry, plant sages, have to take advantage of reprieve)
  • Redo manicure/pedicure, as camping wreaks havoc on all manner of nail paint
  • Happily box all heavy winter clothes for stashing in downstairs closet now that glacial Michigan weather looks to be finally gone
  • Consequently try on summer clothes to weed out Goodwill donations (actually decided to scratch this one out as might be too depressing to come face to face with indisputable weight gain, Aarrghhh!)
  • Walk to the neighborhood Farmer’s Market for treats such as fresh fruits for smoothie recipe, to be splashed with vodka later in the evening

That list looked fantastic at about 9am, when the boys left– it is now 6pm according to trusty PC clock as I face the reality of what a great plan-maker I am, and how I must keep working on the plan-following skills instead.

This is what I ended up doing today:

  • Made elaborate breakfast: coddled eggs, bacon, skillet potatoes (clearly not even on the list)
  • Walked, but got sidetracked into new pastry shop on the way to Farmer’s Market, and excitedly brought home the cutest little mini-cheesecake squares (truffle)
  • Introduced said squares to remaining Haagen Dazs in freezer, and read a variety of magazines in bed
  • Took a long nap with Yorkie

Yes, not exactly a productive one, but can still follow through with the vodka smoothie plan for dinner. The boys will be back late; I have plenty of time to come up with stories of how busy I was all day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2009 10:40 pm

    Mnemosyne, we are definitely kindred spirits! Ok, so maybe I actually LIKE gardening, but I would put off weeding any day of the week for a good book in a cozy hammock. The truffle and HD sounds divine, BTW. Much better than rabbit food (which I also love but not more than sinful stuff). Were you able to convince the men in your life that next weekend you deserve a break because of all of the hard work you did today? :O

  2. June 1, 2009 8:12 am

    My dear, the likenesses were apparent from the start 😉
    I shall steal your idea and totally prolong the ruse; I’m very good at playing tired.

  3. June 1, 2009 9:56 am

    Prolong away! A truffle awaits next Saturday:)

Leave a Reply

