Skip to content

Intrepid Flora

May 29, 2009

flowers, side yardI am posting these here as photographic evidence that there truly are such things as miracles.

These normal-looking plants can be found on a trellis next to the side entrance of my house. I think it might be Morning Glory, but more importantly, being that I am quite possibly the worst gardener ever (counting fraternity meatheads who water potted plants with beer), notice the absence of gnarled bits and dried wretchedness.

In case you wondered, some other nurturing soul planted them before we bought the house, as I haven’t successfully grown anything since that time in 3rd grade when my class grew bean sprouts in plastic cups. Yes, I am an idiot-savant when it comes to gardening. And the savant part only in the most accidental way, as when I inadvertently under-watered a plant that actually did require as little water as possible.

 

           P5284731                     P5284729

I wish the rest of the garden looked this healthy and headed in the right direction. Instead of overgrown, in desperate need of weeding, and riddled with prime lurking spots for various furtive creatures. It’s no wonder the boys love “exploring” there, draped in tied-together pieces of old ponchos and army pants.

Grooming the garden into a more habitable one is officially the family’s major project this summer. Wish us luck!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2009 9:35 pm

    Well, the meatheads did have one thing correct–beer supposedly wards off slugs…

    That almost looks like clematis, too. It’s hard to tell without seeing a close-up shot. I do know that in some places morning glory is considered a weed, and I only know that because my husband had a fit when I planted them last year. They never did grow so not sure if I killed them unintentionally or he did–intentionally! Whatever it is, it sure is beautiful, and if it can grow like that without care, it’s a keeper for sure!

    I love gardening, so please, keep us posted!

  2. May 29, 2009 9:50 pm

    Wow, never would’ve thought that about beer. Cool!
    I looked it up, and you’re right- it is Clematis.
    I totally need you on blog speed-dial. Thanks, on behalf of my soon-to-be happy garden.

  3. May 29, 2009 9:54 pm

    See, your friends were doing a good deed..ha ha ha! Feel free to ping me if you have any questions. My thumb isn’t quite green yet but I do love to plunge it in the dirt;)

  4. May 30, 2009 7:18 am

    Yes, you’ve got a very happy clematis (Ranunculaecae), a climbing perennial. It’ll die back in the winter and show up again next year. It likes to have its roots shaded too. If you want to know more about it, look at http://www.rhs.org.uk/advicesearch/Profile.aspx?pid=97.
    I swear by the Royal Horticultural Society’s website for all my plant questions, e.g. regarding propagating, fertilizing, pruning. The Brits really know their gardens.

    Gardening is so much fun, especially when the whole family joins in. It’s a great stress-reliever for me. I occasionally have to bribe my kids to help me weed, but I’ll resort to anything to get the job done. And of course there must be a reward at day’s end, which in hot weather means frozen vodka for me.

    As we say over here, bon courage!

  5. May 30, 2009 7:30 am

    Thank you, dear plant sages. And that website is genius!
    Since I’m new at this, I’ll have the vodka before, during, and after the task 😉

  6. Wanda permalink
    June 7, 2009 3:23 pm

    I love plants! http://davesgarden.com is another great site. A website for gardeners by gardeners.
    I would love to be your “gardening girl.”

  7. June 7, 2009 3:56 pm

    Wanda, you brought our cantankerous “tree” back to life, and it still happily resides in your living room last I checked.
    Anyone who can perform Lazarus-type plant resuscitations is a shoo-in. You’re hired!

Leave a Reply

