Skip to content

It’s a “Mad World”

May 20, 2009

Unbelievable upset tonight! After weeks of blowing the competition out of the water, Adam Lambert loses the American Idol title to Kris Allen. I’m still scratching my head, and it’s not the new shampoo.

It was an extremely unsatisfying end to a finale that boasted a collage of top artists taking the stage with Idol contestants: Jason Mraz, Queen Latifah, Black Eyed Peas, Lionel Ritchie, Cyndi Lauper, Keith Urban, and Rod Stewart, including a full-blown concert performance by Kiss and Queen. Oh, and a really sweet number with Steve Martin- who knew he had an album?

So how could someone with phenomenal vocal range and consistent virtuoso performances be beaten on a televised talent show? Elementary, my dear Watson; it’s because American Idol is, above all else, a popularity contest.

It was a case of clean-cut, low-key, Middle-American appeal versus eye-linered, fingernail-painted Goth Rock. Which, considering all the additional hoopla over Adam’s sexuality, played a large part in wooing Idol viewers- the majority of whom are from Middle America with traditionally conservative values. Let’s face it, Idol remains no more than a guilty pleasure to “blue-state” types who consider the show too hokey for words. Otherwise, they would have voted and Adam would have won! 😉

Unfortunately, the things I just mentioned do nothing to salve the perceived injustice on my part. After all, although each is glaringly obvious, it only goes to show that Adam lost for all the wrong reasons.

I’m with Simon Cowell, who didn’t even stand up to applaud when the winner was announced.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. kgoffthechain permalink
    May 21, 2009 2:32 am

    It certainly was shocking!!!! I just posted my recap of the show, I hope you’ll check it out! http://kgoffthechain.wordpress.com/

  2. May 21, 2009 6:24 am

    Good Recap! You just saved me from adding a possibly 10-part, youtube video of the finale.

  3. May 22, 2009 11:13 pm

    Mnemosyne, pop by my blog to pick up your Kreativ Blogger Award. Please don’t feel obligated to post or to share. I just wanted to let you know that I love your blog and wanted to share it with others:)

  4. May 24, 2009 6:54 pm

    Thanks so much for this wonderful honor! I truly appreciate it.
    I’ve been away on holiday, but will be posting something on this soon.

  5. May 25, 2009 9:29 am

    Much deserved, Mnemosyne:)

  6. May 25, 2009 12:36 pm

    Adam Lambert + Queen = a match made in rock n’ roll heaven

  7. May 25, 2009 1:21 pm

    Absolutely! I’m sure a collaboration is on its way.

Leave a Reply

